Bariatric Advantage is an example of a big company giving back……..

I get asked quite often if the reason I endorse and use and rave about Bariatric Advantage products is because they are the primary sponsor for my radio show.  I usually chuckle to myself a little bit because long before I ever decided to venture into the world of radio, I was a fan of Bariatric Advantage.  I asked for samples of about four different types of bariatric vitamins when I was three weeks post op and ready to really start my supplement regimen.  I had several criteria in choosing my supplements.

First and foremost I wanted a product that was good for me, then it needed to taste really good, and then I had to feel like I was getting a good value.  When I tried all of the different products that came to my front door, Bariatric Advantage met all of those.  Now I am not saying that any of the other supplements out there are not good products. I am sure they are all just fine.  But when I combined numbers, taste, convenience and value, Bariatric Advantage came out on top for me.

So, a love affair was born.  I have used nothing since.  Now I see daily reasons why I am so proud to have them as part of The Bariatric Breakthrough Challenge conference series and as the title sponsor of the “Fit Living” radio show.  If you pay attention, you will see that Bariatric Advantage really gives back to our community.  That is important to me.

Bariatric Advantage will have a rep at any support group meeting anywhere in the country if you ask them to be there.  They will show up with tons of samples and ready to answer questions!  They also have a great social media presence.  Ed Sinson is awesome and anytime a patient wants samples or has a question, he is there to help.  Great guy.  Ed is the first person at Bariatric Advantage that I ever had contact with.

If you look at the Walk From Obesity- you will see them as a national sponsor.  When the WLSFA (Weight Loss Surgery Foundation of America) had their meet and greet last year, Bariatric advantage was right there to jump on board and help as a sponsor of the event.  The CEO of Bariatric Advantage, Tom Kinder is not only a great businessman, but also a big-hearted businessman.  Tom is one of those people you just like talking to and being around.  Tom really cares about the outcomes for bariatric patients and it shows.

(Myself and Tom Kinder at the ASMBS meeting earlier in the summer)

There are so many different programs that Bariatric Advantage uses to give back to our community on a daily basis.  Do you ever forget to take your vitamins?  That is a huge issue in our community.  Every time the Chief Science Officer from  Bariatric Advantage, Dr. Jacqueline Jacques, is on my radio show “Fit Living”, she graciously gives out tons of awesome information for the listeners about why supplements are so very important for post-op weight loss surgery patients regardless of procedure type.  The stats she gives regarding the percentage of patients who stop taking vitamins after year two are staggering.  The number is over 50%.  I would venture to say a large number of those stop because they simply get busy with life and forget to take them.

This is another way in which Bariatric Advantage is giving back to us.  Are you familiar with iCOMPLI? This is a great program that the offer free of charge that will send you text or email reminders to take your vitamins.  How cool is that?  It is like having your own personal assistant to remind you daily to take care of yourself!  if you are not signed up yet, you need to be for sure!

I also get emails and calls to the radio show about people who just cannot afford to buy vitamins anymore in this economy.  Not to digress, BUT, I digress for a minute- for anyone who is working and has an income, I feel like when it comes to vitamins for a wls patient, you simply cannot afford NOT to buy them.  I get a little upset when I am talking to someone who is telling me they don’t take vitamins because they are too expensive and then I see that same person spending four bucks for a latte at Starbucks.  Priorities please!  I would no more stop taking my vitamins than I would stop taking heart meds if I had a heart condition.  Yes it is that important.  Do a little research for yourself about what can happen to us in the long-term if we do not take supplements and then see if you decide that the vitamins are more important than the latte.

Okay- getting off of my soapbox now and back to my point.  There are some people who truly are in a really bad way.  They may have lost their job, or had some other extenuating circumstance that really does prevent them from having the funds to buy vitamins each month. Bariatric Advantage has worked with the OAC (Obesity Action Coalition) and bariatric surgeons to create a program to help people in this situation called RECOVER.  This is a great program where a patient can be referred by their surgeon to the program and through RECOVER, can receive vitamins at no cost until their situation improves.  There are of course qualifications that have to be met and the surgeon must refer the patient.  This is a really great program and something they do not have to do, but do because they choose to give back to our community.

When we started getting things ready for the Breakthrough Challenge series, Bariatric Advantage was one of the first companies to jump on board and also to offer an educational segment on supplements done by Dr. Jacques for the attendees.  It just seems that no matter where you look, they are there at every turn, trying to give back and do good for our community on a daily basis.  That is the kind of company I like giving my support to for sure!

So for those who always want to know, yes I love Bariatric Advantage because they taste good and are good for me, but I also love them because they love our community and that is equally as important to me.

 

About Erin Akey

I am a formerly morbidly obese wife, mother, Christian, author, speaker, water fitness instructor, nutritionist, anti-obesity advocate, and Emerald Ambassador with Plexus Worldwide. I am passionate about helping people fight the disease of obesity and also preventing and addressing obesity in children. I believe we have so many amazing tools available to treat this disease and we all need to take advantage of the ones we feel are right for us. I am also passionate about women taking the time to care for their needs. We live in a world where so many of us spend all of our time taking care of others that we neglect ourselves. I am all about making God the center of everything and letting His will take control of our lives and watching the beautiful blessings come from that release of power! Live, Laugh, and LOVE every day! Be grateful and be humble and watch the world around you change!
This entry was posted in Notes from the Guru, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bariatric Advantage is an example of a big company giving back……..

  1. Bariatric Advantage is awesome. Great taste, great products!

Leave a Reply

