Are we holding onto our shovels?

Yesterday in church I heard a quote that really made me think.  The pastor was talking about financial problems and referred to people who have dug themselves into a financial hole through bad habits etc.  He said that in order to get ourselves out of the holes we have dug ourselves into, we first had to lose the shovel.

This idea of the shovel and holes really stuck with me.  I started thinking of our weight loss journeys and how this same theory could apply there  as well.  I cannot tell you how many people email me and tell me about how they are slowly regaining weight a few pounds at a time and slowly getting out of the habit of taking vitamins and slowly stopping regular exercise.  Our bad habits are like shovels and we dig and dig and dig until we are so far down into the hole of obesity that it can be really hard to get back out.

Some of us have more than one shovel we like to use.  For some the shovel is the habit of eating lots of sugar or drinking too much alcohol.  For some our shovel is empty carbs.  My shovel was a big bag of Doritos.  We have to drop the shovels.

As for the holes…..there are so many different “holes” we can fall into.  Regain, cross-addiction, depression, anger, hatred, empathy, loneliness, and the list can go on and on and on.  Some holes are deeper than others too.  There is a big difference in the depth of a hole that is composed of ten pounds of regain and the hole of cross addiction that is so deep that it is affecting your daily life.  How deep is the hole of depression that is keeping you from being the happiest you can be.  What about the hole of anger?  That can be a really deep one.  I see it every day in this community and it breaks my heart.

Every hole has a shovel that dug it to begin with.  The first step is recognizing BOTH our holes and shovels.   I know I have many.  One of my holes is self-doubt.  My shovel that dug that one is fear and lack of self-esteem.  I need to lose that shovel.  I am working on it daily.  Another hole for me is worry.  I worry about things that I have ZERO control over. I worry about what people think of me, and whether I am making everyone happy with my radio show and conferences because I MUST MAKE EVERYONE HAPPY.  Oh and this gem of thought- EVERYONE MUST LIKE ME.  I worry about that one a lot.  My good friend Cari De La Cruz recently told me while we were having some girl talk – “You will not be everyone’s cup of tea and that is okay.”  For so long I used the shovel of thinking I must please everyone and make everyone happy to dig the hole of worry.  I am dropping that shovel and realizing that while I will always do my best to be the best person I can be and to be kind and compassionate and loving, some folks just will not get me or like me and that is okay!

I refuse to fall into anymore holes.  My new goal is to recognize the holes and the shovels that dig them before they get deep enough for me to fall into and to drop the shovels and fill the holes back up!  Life is too short and too precious to waste time down in holes!

I want to be on top of the world in the light and living life to its fullest and not down in a deep dark hole.  Food addiction was a VERY nasty shovel for me that led to the VERY DEEP VERY DARK hole of obesity.  Thankfully I am in treatment for that disease and am filling that hole day by day.

Do you have holes?  Do you know what shovels dug them?  Today is a good day to find out and climb back out into the light where you deserve to be!   LIFE IS TOO SHORT TO LIVE IN HOLES!  LOSE THE SHOVELS AND LIVE!

About Erin Akey

I am a formerly morbidly obese wife, mother, Christian, author, speaker, water fitness instructor, nutritionist, anti-obesity advocate, and Emerald Ambassador with Plexus Worldwide. I am passionate about helping people fight the disease of obesity and also preventing and addressing obesity in children. I believe we have so many amazing tools available to treat this disease and we all need to take advantage of the ones we feel are right for us. I am also passionate about women taking the time to care for their needs. We live in a world where so many of us spend all of our time taking care of others that we neglect ourselves. I am all about making God the center of everything and letting His will take control of our lives and watching the beautiful blessings come from that release of power! Live, Laugh, and LOVE every day! Be grateful and be humble and watch the world around you change!
This entry was posted in Notes from the Guru, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Are we holding onto our shovels?

  1. This message spoke to my heart Erin~ thanks for the analogy and the life lessons attached. I’ve got some shovels to identify!

  2. Hole-y Cow! Great post, my friend!!! I like to think that I’ve cast aside my shovels and am firmly on my road to recovery from obesity, but every once in awhile, I’ll notice that a certain hole is getting deeper, and I’ll realize I’ve been digging with…a spoon. Ugh. My lesson is: Identify the tool you’re using to dig your own grave — then heave it FAR from that hole…right before you climb out of it 😉 Great analogy; I assure you, I’ll be thinking about shovels all day! :-*

  3. Casey Frawley says:

    Great analogy Erin! We all have shovels we need to get rid of. Sometimes we get rid of them only to go back to them in the future. Or we pick up another unhealthy “shovel” to replace the one we got rid of! The key is to permanately get rid of them and replace them with tools that will build us up and make us better! Again, thank you for sharing your wisdom. You are a gem in this community and we are blessed to have you!

  4. Laura Van Tuyl says:

    I’m putting mine down today too!

  5. Thanks for sharing…great post! Julia Holloman @ http://www.milestogoblog.com

  6. Katherine Acuna says:

    Your post brought tears, and tears. My shovel happens to be a very large one and I need to downsize drastically! I have seen some reference, but did not really read what you had to say until now. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

