Healthy Through The Holidays Week 3!

You guys are rocking the exercise!  This is such a great way to get a head start on the busy holiday season and prepare your body for the madness!  There will be so much going on for many of us and temptations will be all around us.  This week will be the first true test.

The goals this week are three-fold.  I want Thanksgiving to be about something other than food!  We talked a lot about this yesterday at the Bariatric Breakthrough Challenge here in Ephrata, PA and I loved the attitudes I saw.

I want Thanksgiving to not be a time of anxiety for you, but a time of joy and family and fun.  I want you to really reflect on things you are thankful for in your life.  I want us to motivate each other and inspire each other.  We are a family of people struggling with obesity and together we can move mountains and lose mountains.

I know many of you are posting in the private group, and I am totally fine with that for people concerned with privacy, but for those who are not, even if you post in both places, please post on the main page so that others struggling can see your inspirational thoughts and ideas.  We will only count the posts once for the contest, but would love to see more activity on the main page!  Again, for those with privacy issues, we are 150% FINE with you just using the private page.

Here is what I want you to do this week.  Start a new page in your notebook and at the top write:  TAKE MY VITAMINS!!  and I CAN RESIST!  Each day, I want to see three things posted on the page and written in your book.  This week, I also want you to go back each day at a time when you are feeling discouraged or down, and look at the exercise you did last week and be proud!  Then go look at the things from week 1 that you can do now since your surgery or losing weight, or for the newbies, look at those goals.

BE PROUD!!!  TELL YOURSELF YOU ARE A SUCCESS!!!  YOU CAN DO THIS THIS WEEK!

These are the three things I want to see on the page each day and in your notebook:

1. Something you are thankful for in your life that is a direct result of your weight loss, or for the new people a result of your decision to lose weight.

2. Something physical you did that day to treat your body well- a walk, a swim, playing football with the kids, etc.

3. Something you are committing to do to make Thanksgiving less of a temptation and more healthy.  For example- I will make my own plate and not pile it high, I will skip the dessert, I will eat protein first, etc.  By Thursday, you should have a BIG LIST of ideas to make getting through the holiday weekend MUCH EASIER AND LESS TEMPTING!

I also want all of you to think less about the food and think about how to make the holiday about family and friends and loved ones.  Oh and football …… (ROLL TIDE!)

You can do this.  Go into the day with a PLAN AD BE SMART!!!

Also, don’t forget to tune in tonight at 7pm CST/8pm EST to “Fit Living”!  If you are not on the Gulf Coast, the link to listen online is here:  www.fmtalk1065.com YOU CAN DO THIS!

I AM SO PROUD OF ALL YOU HAVE DONE SO FAR! YOU ALL INSPIRE ME AND MAKE ME WANT TO DO EVEN BETTER!!!

There is something else I want to know, this is not for an entry in the contest, but I want to know if this is helping you so far.  Has it helped you stay on course?  Have you lost any weight in the last two weeks?  Tell me how it is helping you!  Leave those comments here on the blog.  You all rock!!!

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!!!!

XXOO

ERIN

About Erin Akey

I am a formerly morbidly obese wife, mother, Christian, author, speaker, water fitness instructor, nutritionist, anti-obesity advocate, and Emerald Ambassador with Plexus Worldwide. I am passionate about helping people fight the disease of obesity and also preventing and addressing obesity in children. I believe we have so many amazing tools available to treat this disease and we all need to take advantage of the ones we feel are right for us. I am also passionate about women taking the time to care for their needs. We live in a world where so many of us spend all of our time taking care of others that we neglect ourselves. I am all about making God the center of everything and letting His will take control of our lives and watching the beautiful blessings come from that release of power! Live, Laugh, and LOVE every day! Be grateful and be humble and watch the world around you change!
This entry was posted in Notes from the Guru, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Healthy Through The Holidays Week 3!

  1. Lisa says:

    Erin, I’m sorry to not have commented earlier.. life is so hectic and truly it’s hard to keep up with public page, private group plus blog. I’m also fighting a cold and the apathy that goes along with it.

    I’ve not lost any weight, but that’s not my focus right now. My current focus is maintenance. Is the contest helping me in maintenance? Probably. I happened to find a food item that I really like.. and full of sodium.. while I did consume it, rationalizing the whole time.. I KNEW what I was doing. And when my jeans were tight yesterday and scale up 5 freakin lbs, I knew it was from the extra sodium and I haven’t berated myself over it.. just watching the scale go back down as the sodium clears my body.

  2. MrsToni SkinnyBritches says:

    Erin, I am really enjoying this challenge! It “sparks” me daily to take good care of “me!”

    Week 1 was a great exercise in putting some thought into the changes that are taking place in my life. I appreciated that challenge because as I listed things daily, it made a deep impression in my mind about how far I HAVE come and the huge changes that are making life so much more joyful for me.

    Week 2 really spurred me on to STAY moving but it also helped me beef up my exercise program! As a result, I joined a hiking club in our area and went on a 3-hour hike on Saturday which was a HUGE challenge for me… And, it pushed me into One-derland on weigh-in day on Monday!

    Week 3 is off to a good start and it is always a good exercise to jot down things we are thankful for. And, you have us preparing ourselves mentally for what is going to happen when we sit down at the Thanksgiving table. I love this assignment!

    I’ve been a little disappointed with the challenge being separated into a community group and a private group. I had hoped to build stronger relationships in the process, but with us posting in 2 different spots, I feel some continuity has been lost. I certainly understand the privacy issue and wish there was a way to remedy the separateness. I’ve put forth the effort to visit both areas and leave encouraging words.

    Also, I was very excited about the Recipe Challenge and getting new ideas for WLS friendly Thanksgiving Day food ideas, but have to say to revisit the post I have had to hunt for it by scrolling down through several “older posts” buttons to locate it. I think it got “lost” and off of people’s radar for that reason.

    Overall, I have very much enjoyed this challenge and thank you for designing it and overseeing it for us. It has been VERY helpful and loads of fun!!!

    Hugs and blessings and thankful for YOU!

    Toni

  3. LeAnn says:

    Erin:
    This challenge has made a huge difference in my ability to stay focused on my committments to healthy eating during holiday travel this past week. I have come back to the site over and over to get encouragement while I’ve been traveling. I felt lots of support from the group. I also wish this were ONE community but I know you were just trying to accommodate personal requests for privacy. Keeping my notebook with me and having the daily accountability on the website has made me more mindful of my eating and exercise choices this Thanksgiving week. I came home today one pound lighter than I left on Wednesday~ and I enjoyed some very delicious food and fun family times, too!
    LeAnn
    in Jacksonville

Leave a Reply

