Thanksgiving does not have to be the enemy!

Tomorrow is a big day for eating and for temptation and so many people have been talking about tips and ideas to get through.  I thought I would share what I am doing to make it through the day without straying too far away from my eating plan.

We will be spending the weekend with lots of family.  There will likely be over 50 people at our gathering tomorrow.  I am a Southern girl through and through and we like to eat.  Oh and we like to often eat things that are NOT good for us.

One of my strategies is to have my before picture with me in my pocket.  Here it is: and boy was I unhealthy here at my highest weight of 325 pounds!  That year, the holidays were all about the food.  When the sugary, carby, empty calorie foods start to call my name, I will pull out this picture and remember how far I have come and then I will ask myself is the few minutes of pleasure that comes from the taste of this food more important than the three years of hard work to shed the weight?  OF COURSE NOT!

This was about five weeks before my gastric bypass that started me on a journey to being as healthy as I could be.  Since then, holidays are about my family and friends and loved ones and counting my many blessings and just living life.  The food is just not a focus the way it used to be.  My pleasure and my best friend is no longer an edible entity.

Don’t get me wrong, as I still love good food and still love to eat to fuel my body, but I make better choices.  Do I make them ALL THE TIME?  Of course not!  (We will not even talk about the Dunkin Donuts incident last summer on the way home from my son’s Navy graduation)   But for the most part, I prefer to no longer live to eat, but to really LIVE!  I prefer this Erin  below to the Erin above.  I also know that in order to preserve that new Erin, I have to be smart when I eat and be mindful of WHAT I eat.

I still have temptation issues EVERY DAY!  Just last week I tried to get Ben to buy a snack mix that had Doritos in it!  But we didn’t and it turned into a big joke.  Being surrounded by people eating tons of fattening and sugary treats at a gathering is a whole different story.  A lot of the attendees at our event last weekend in PA, had some suggestions for how to avoid the “bad” stuff and to stay focused on your health.

I loved them all and if anyone has more, feel free to add them in the comments here!  For myself, I am making a dish to bring that i love and that is very healthy.  This way I KNOW that I have an option besides just the turkey.  I am making a spaghetti squash and tomato casserole.  SO yummy and all it has is the squash, onions, tomatoes, and a touch of garlic and olive oil.

When I see the creamy fatty green bean casserole, I will know there is another option for me.  HAVE OPTIONS- even if you have to bring them yourself!  Most of us fail at making good choices when there is no convenient good choice in front of us so take the time to prepare a dish to bring to the gathering that works for you and your healthy lifestyle.

I will also be making my own plate.  This way I can control portions.  I will also use the smaller dessert plate to fix my meal.  I will DEFINITELY have some type of breakfast, likely a protein shake and I will also do an early morning hike the morning after to burn off anything extra I might consume.

Keeping exercise of some type as part of the weekend will really help. Also, if you are staying the whole weekend, bring your supply!  We are leaving today and I have a bag packed with my protein bars, shakes, low carb snacks, and water flavorings that I need.

I will have my Greek yogurt and sugar-free honey for breakfast and my 34 degrees crispbreads and cheese for a snack and things of that nature.  I refuse to be caught off- guard.  Planning and not feeling overwhelmed is a big key to success.

If the kids are all outside playing a game, join them!  I know it is a big football day and that means TV, but take a break and do something physical or at least just get yourself away from the kitchen.  I am also bringing SF hot cocoa and SF jello pudding cups to have as my desert.  I will still get to have all of the fun with everyone else but will not compromise my new healthy lifestyle.

And when all else fails, just sit back, take a deep breath and ask yourself, Why do I need the piece of pie?  What good will it do for me?  Is it REALLY going to kill me to miss out on it? OF COURSE NOT!

If you just have to have one bite and feel like it is the best way to curb the craving, be sure to keep it to ONE BITE and not ten or the whole piece.

Worst case scenario- you totally screw up and make bad choices all day- do NOT beat yourself up!  Wake up Friday and start over and make it a day of cleansing and eat even more strictly that day.  When I had my awful donut incident last summer, the next day I did nothing but protein shakes and a very small high protein meal for dinner just to cleanse my body of the crap.  I also doubled my water that day as well.

YOU HAVE TO TELL YOURSELF THAT YOU DESERVE TO BE HEALTHY AND TO HAVE A HEALTHY BODY.

THIS WILL ASSIST IN MAKING GOOD CHOICES.

YOU CAN DO THIS!

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!

 

About Erin Akey

I am a formerly morbidly obese wife, mother, Christian, author, speaker, water fitness instructor, nutritionist, anti-obesity advocate, and Emerald Ambassador with Plexus Worldwide. I am passionate about helping people fight the disease of obesity and also preventing and addressing obesity in children. I believe we have so many amazing tools available to treat this disease and we all need to take advantage of the ones we feel are right for us. I am also passionate about women taking the time to care for their needs. We live in a world where so many of us spend all of our time taking care of others that we neglect ourselves. I am all about making God the center of everything and letting His will take control of our lives and watching the beautiful blessings come from that release of power! Live, Laugh, and LOVE every day! Be grateful and be humble and watch the world around you change!
This entry was posted in Notes from the Guru, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

