Can YOU cut the crud?

We eat so much crud in this country.  I do not think many of us realize just how many chemicals and how much garbage we take in on a daily basis.  I am convinced that the large amount of processed foods we eat are not only a HUGE contributing factor to the obesity problem in this country, but also to other illnesses as well.

It just doesn’t seem like a coincidence to me that the more we have turned into a society of convenience and fast foods and boxed meals, the higher our rates of cancer and heart disease and other diseases have gone.  I received this photo from a lady named Theresa who we met in Ephrata, PA at the Bariatric Breakthrough Challenge we did there.

Everyone who knows me knows the stories of my literal Dorito addiction and my episodes of LICKING them after my surgery.  WHAT THE HECK WAS I THINKING???

Ever since researching and realizing just what all of this was doing to our bodies, Ben and I have become staunch advocates of trying to eliminate all of the processed foods from our diets.  We try to follow the lead that if it doesn’t come from nature, we do not need to put it in our bodies.  I am even trying to make myself switch from Splenda to Stevia….and that is a work in progress.

I can tell you that both Ben and I are feeling SO GOOD since we removed the preservatives and additives and processed foods from our diets. We both see fewer aches and pains, more energy, and my skin even looks better!

Have you ever looked at your food and wondered why it looks the way it looks?  Do you know why apples and strawberries and tomatoes are red?  Do you know why cucumbers and bell peppers and green beans are green?  Every food that you eat that comes from nature gets that color from the micro nutrients that it provides. There is a reason we need to eat a rainbow of colors every day, and I am NOT talking about a bag of Skittles!

If we are ever going to really get this obesity epidemic under control, we have got to start knowing what we are putting into our bodies.  Have you ever actually read the list of ingredients in most processed foods?   This is not the way our bodies were intended to be nourished.  Everything we NEED to be strong and healthy and fit can be found in nature.

Have you ever asked yourself WHY 10 year old girls have breasts bigger than some 15 year olds from 20 years ago?  What did we think would happen if we pump chickens with hormones to make their breasts huge because as a country we have adopted the “bigger is better” philosophy and want more and want it faster and want it with little effort?

It is shocking to me how many people tell me they DAYS go by where they eat little to no fruits and veggies.  Our bodies literally CRAVE the nutrients and they help all of our different systems to function properly.  Additives and chemicals do not aid our bodies in any way.

I have a challenge for all of you.  CAN YOU GO 15 DAYS WITHOUT THE CRUD?

I want to see how many of my Gurus can go 15 days without putting processed foods and chemicals into their bodies.  Here is how it will work.

1. Make a pledge to eat nothing processed for the next 15 days.  No boxed meals, no junk food, none of that.  My only concession will be Splenda and sweeteners.  Other than that, NOTHING artificial.  For example- fruits and veggies need to be fresh or frozen.  NOTHING FROM A CAN!  Canned goods are filled with chemicals and sodium.  Proteins and meats need to be non-processed and not canned.  No lunch meats etc.

2. Pledge to eat at LEAST five servings of colorful fruits and veggies per day and this does not include french fries and white potatoes!

3. Pledge to eat nothing fried for this period.  Everything is broiled, steamed, or baked.

4. Pledge to take your vitamins daily as prescribed by your surgeon.

5. Post how you did AT LEASTevery three days.  Feel free to post photos if you see improvements in your skin or losses on the scale.

At the end of 15 days, we will randomly draw one person from the posts so remember-every post is an entry.  Feel free to post up to 15 times, but at least every three days!

THE WINNER WILL GET AN AWESOME PRIZE PACK OF VITAMINS FROM Bariatric Advantage, Wellesse, and Pharmics!

I PROMISE YOU WILL FEEL AWESOME ONCE YOU CUT THE CRUD!  COMMENT HERE TO LET US KNOW YOU ARE PARTICIPATING!

CONTEST STARTS TOMORROW FEBRUARY 20TH AND RUNS THROUGH MARCH 6TH- ONE OF MY FAVORITE DAYS OF THE YEAR!

xxoo

Erin

About Erin Akey

I am a formerly morbidly obese wife, mother, Christian, author, speaker, water fitness instructor, nutritionist, anti-obesity advocate, and Emerald Ambassador with Plexus Worldwide. I am passionate about helping people fight the disease of obesity and also preventing and addressing obesity in children. I believe we have so many amazing tools available to treat this disease and we all need to take advantage of the ones we feel are right for us. I am also passionate about women taking the time to care for their needs. We live in a world where so many of us spend all of our time taking care of others that we neglect ourselves. I am all about making God the center of everything and letting His will take control of our lives and watching the beautiful blessings come from that release of power! Live, Laugh, and LOVE every day! Be grateful and be humble and watch the world around you change!
This entry was posted in Notes from the Guru, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Can YOU cut the crud?

  1. leannjax says:

    I’ll take that challenge Erin! No crud for me~ that’s until March 6th by my calendar. Would this also include our dairy products like yogurt? I’m not sure about that one?

  2. Mary says:

    I’m IN, Erin !!!!!!! Just need a clarification…when you say 5 servings of veggies and fruit, does that mean 5 veggies AND 5 fruits OR a combination of 5 total?? Also, when is the challenge starting??

    Looking forward to 15 healthy days!!!! 🙂

    Hugs, Mary Beth xoxoxoxoxoxox

    • Five total in a combination- preferably 3 veggie and two fruit but I am okay with any combination! The goal is just to really add more fruits and veggies to your diet! Today is day 1!!

  3. I am up for the challenge. and its perfect for me because my LENT start today… (Monday the 20th).. I just went shopping and bought rainbow colors of veggies to make tonight.. 🙂 I bought greek yogurt.. and that should be ok.. from Chobani (sp?) or Fage… I’ve gained trying hard to get the weight gain off.. I am 4 years out..

    • Carmen says:

      I know you can do it!!! Call me or e-mail me. I have not been able to get in touch with you and I am worried.

      Smile \”/—Big Sis

  4. Does coffee count as processed?

Leave a Reply

