102 Days to go……Today was all about the glow…….

102 was a crazy training day.  Actually, that number did not just correspond to the days left until the half-marathon, it also fit the heat index for the day.  It was an off-day for my boys from cross-country practice and so we decided to head to the park for a workout.

This is where all sanity had left the building.  What on earth made me think it was a good idea to do a three mile workout at 2pm on one of the hottest days of July so far?  It was a struggle to say the least.  Thank goodness for the voice of my mentor Jeff Galloway telling me I could do it when every part of me said STOP NOW.  I did have a lot of water and had hydrated well before we left, but that was the roughest workout I have had in over a year.

Even my two well-conditioned boys Connor and Reed could go no further than four miles.  It was beastly hot.  We left the park and made a bee-line for the nearest convenience store for some Powerade Zero.

I realized on the ride home one ore thing I love about working out.  I LOVE the  bright red glow my cheeks get, and keep, for a few hours after a good shuffle. I was completely spent, but on the ride home from the park, every time I looked into the mirror, those rosy cheeks were a reminder of my hard work and how good it felt to have accomplished Week 4 Day 1 of my 13.1 program.

I think it is more than the rosy cheeks.  it is also the rush of adrenaline and endorphin’s that come along with them.  The sweat, the cheeks, the endorphin’s, and the tiredness…..they all remind me of what is good about exercise.  They remind me of what I strive to help my Fit and Flourishing clients achieve.

I am so glad to be back in a relationship with all four after our little breakup.  This time, I want it to last forever!

XXOO

Erin

About Erin Akey

I am a formerly morbidly obese wife, mother, Christian, author, speaker, water fitness instructor, nutritionist, anti-obesity advocate, and Emerald Ambassador with Plexus Worldwide. I am passionate about helping people fight the disease of obesity and also preventing and addressing obesity in children. I believe we have so many amazing tools available to treat this disease and we all need to take advantage of the ones we feel are right for us. I am also passionate about women taking the time to care for their needs. We live in a world where so many of us spend all of our time taking care of others that we neglect ourselves. I am all about making God the center of everything and letting His will take control of our lives and watching the beautiful blessings come from that release of power! Live, Laugh, and LOVE every day! Be grateful and be humble and watch the world around you change!
This entry was posted in Back for the Bling with my Mizunos! and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

