Roasted butternut squash- SIMPLE and YUMMY!

butternutsquashOne thing I love about the fall and winter is the availability of so many great squashes.  Butternut is one of my faves.  It reminds me of a cross between pumpkin and sweet potato.    The nutritional numbers are great with only 82 calories per cup and lots of vitamins!

I love to roast the squash by cutting off the bottom bulb that contains all of the seeds.  The bottom part that was left I will usually scoop out, peel, and cube.  Then I will take the cubes and cook them in some low sodium chicken broth and some chopped onions and make a great soup by putting the mixture into a Magic Bullet after it is cooked. I will usually put this away for another day- but sometimes I cannot resist and will have the yummy soup right away!

photo 2 (43)

 

I peel and then slice the top part into 1/4 inch thick circles and lay them out on a baking sheet.  The sheet is covered in foil and sprayed with cooking spray.  I drizzle a little bit of olive oil on top as well as my favorite seasonings.  Usually I do some dry Ranch mix, pepper, and Cajun seasoning for a little kick! You can use whatever you like best.  This is what it looks like before cooking.

photo 3 (32)

 

 

Then just bake the medallions at 350 for about 30-45 minutes until done.  The time will vary depending on your oven.  This is what they look like when finished.

photo 4 (22)

Once you have your roasted squash, the possibilities are endless!   Something I enjoy is to make a pizza from the roasted squash.  Arrange the medallions on a low carb tortilla and then sprinkle some grated Parmesan cheese over the top and bake at 350 until tortilla is crisp!  Be sure to spray the baking sheet first as well!

This is the finished version of the pizza! I just cut it into 4 pieces and enjoy!

559887_10151380808090983_1927139988_n

 

I also like to eat the medallions as a main dish with a nice green salad on the side.  I have also taken them and put them in a low carb tortilla and sprinkled some sunflower seeds on top and some lettuce and made a wrap out of them.  There are really no limits to how you ca use this tasty nutritious veggie so get creative and enjoy your winter squash!

 

XXOO

Erin

About Erin Akey

I am a formerly morbidly obese wife, mother, Christian, author, speaker, water fitness instructor, nutritionist, anti-obesity advocate, and Emerald Ambassador with Plexus Worldwide. I am passionate about helping people fight the disease of obesity and also preventing and addressing obesity in children. I believe we have so many amazing tools available to treat this disease and we all need to take advantage of the ones we feel are right for us. I am also passionate about women taking the time to care for their needs. We live in a world where so many of us spend all of our time taking care of others that we neglect ourselves. I am all about making God the center of everything and letting His will take control of our lives and watching the beautiful blessings come from that release of power! Live, Laugh, and LOVE every day! Be grateful and be humble and watch the world around you change!
This entry was posted in Notes from the Guru and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

