A Rare Find for this Girl!- Yes I AM in love with this product!

By having my radio show, I get sent products daily to please “try and review”- literally hundreds of products.  Most of you who know me well know that there are FEW I actually will promote or endorse.  I am about integrity and not about the dollar.  If I accepted every offer to advertise on my show by these products, I might be in a much better financial place.  I am very selective and so if you see something advertised on my show or website or in my fitness program Fit and Flourishing, it means it is in my home and I use it daily and truly believe it is a good product.  This is why there are so few!

With that said, please understand that diets do not work.  Getting to and maintaining your optimal level of health and fitness is not about being a certain dress size or weight or BMI.  These are all things that will vary completely from person to person and my healthy size and the weight at which my body is happiest may be bigger or smaller and higher or lower than yours.  There are no set numbers.  I get sad when I see people saying they MUST get to this weight or they MUST fit into this size or they MUST be as skinny as this person.

This is not what being healthy is all about.  Being healthy is doing all you can and using all of the healthy tools available to you to maintain optimal levels of health and fitness.  For example- there are many people skinnier than me, and yet I think I look fantastic and healthy and fit and even though I had spinal fusion a few months ago, I am up to 4 miles at a time in my half marathon training.  Do I sit here and say to myself, “darn I wish I was as skinny as Jane Doe”? Of course not!  I love myself and where I am and am so proud to be living my healthy life.

This is exactly what we are all about here at Fit and Flourishing and Team Bariatric Guru.  We want to help as many people as possible become as fit and truly flourishing and happy as we are.  God has really blessed our lives and we feel passionate about helping others.

We also know, and can understand, thanks in part to a great quote from my wise friend Cari, that we are not going to be everyone’s cup of tea and that is aok! I am prepared for some people to read my blog and immediately look for something negative to say and I am fine with that.  Knowing that by sharing this we have already helped over a dozen people kick the carb cravings is why we are going totally public with our new tool.

As a gastric bypass patient, I have dealt with reactive hypoglycemia off and on for years.  Sometimes the crashes are crazy bad and sometimes not as much, just a little bit of shakiness until I eat something with a few carbs.  A very good friend  of mine who is also an RN and CBN and bariatric coordinator named Casey Frawley told me about this nutritional supplement she had been introduced to by another nurse friend of hers.  My immediate thought was “okay, Casey is falling for a diet pill scheme.”  However, she explained to me that this is not a diet pill or magic potion, but was an all natural plant based nutritional supplement that was developed for diabetics to help regulate blood  sugar levels. This is why I initially agreed to try this.  Now, I did have about 30 pounds I wanted to lose that I had put on since my accident that broke my back in May of 2012.  As soon as I had my first daily drink of this pink stuff called Plexus Slim, and took the daily accelerator, I stopped having blood sugar crashes.  As a result of this, I didn’t snack in the evenings or crave any carbs and so I was able to make even healthier choices more often than before and as a result, I have lost almost 25 pounds in the last few months and am 6 pounds away from the lowest I got after my gastric bypass.

I do not really have a goal weight- I just want to be healthy and feel good and hopefully be able to run again one day.  I know from my back surgeon that for the bone grafts in my back to heal and be strong, taking 30 pounds or so off my 5’11” frame will be a huge help.  There is no dress size I want to be, no waist size either.  I am just trying to keep my blood sugar in check and strengthen my back and be as healthy as possible.  Losing some extra weight is for sure aiding in all of that.

The accelerator too is all natural like the slim and no artificial sweeteners or chemicals or stimulants or diet pills or junk.  It is just a good healthy plant based tool to help you do the work yo know you need to do, but that can be so hard to do, and that is to make good healthy food choices and get some regular exercise.  I have so much energy and not having blood sugar crashes helps me to go for a banana or some berries for a snack rather than something with empty carbs.

I have been so reluctant to share publicly how much I love this drink and how much it has helped me and also quite a few of my fitness clients who struggle with carbs.  Why? Because I worried that people would look badly at me for promoting a supplement, or accuse me of just trying to sell something, and then I realized that that was a crazy fear to have.  My passion in life is fighting obesity.  Most anyone who has ever met me knows that.  How would I be paying it forward to those who could benefit from this product if I used it and just kept my mouth shut?  I quietly spoke to a few of my fitness clients who ordered some and saw immediate differences in their energy levels, in sweet cravings, and within a few days their measurements.

This is what it is all about.  You have to find the tools that work for you to get you where you want to go.  This is just that, a tool.  It is not a meal replacement, not a diet pill, not a fad, not something being touted as a miracle cure or quick fix.  It is a healthy tool that allows us to make better choices that result in weight loss and lots of energy!  Everything in the Slim and accelerator is natural.  THe slim is like a sweet version of Crystal Light to me, but there are no artificial sweeteners in it at all, just Stevia extract and Lo Han fruit which give it the sweetness.  A packet is only 12 calories and I usually drink mine about half an hour before lunch.  I tend to snack at night and crashes tend to come in late afternoon or evening so this timing works best for me.  Most just drink it in the morning.

I am extremely proud to shout to the world about this tool and about how it could be something for you to try in order to see if it helps yo with blood sugar spikes and crashes, sweet cravings, general carb cravings, and head hunger.  If even ONE PERSON emails me from this blog and goes to my link and trys it and feels great and is helped to make better eating choices, then my mission is accomplished!  I am excited to help my non-profit Fit and Flourishing Foundation through being a distributor of this product!

If any of you think this could help you, and you want to know more, email me and I would be glad to share, erineakey@gmail.com was set up just for Plexus info and questions.  We have two nurses who we work closely with to answer any and all questions people have but since this is not a medicine or anything other than a plant based product, there are very few people who could not consume it for medical reasons.

Ben and I just went to Walt Disney World as we do a few times per year, and we will usually have one good treat or splurge while there.  For us it is always one of the fresh hot cinnamon rolls from the Main Street Bakery in Magic KIngdom.  THey are as big as your head and made fresh all day and we usually get one just out of the oven and share it as a treat.  This trip, we never even walked into the bakery.  Even with the smells coming out the door, we just were not tempted.  We also took our 2 year old granddaughter to several character buffets and there was no desire to go back for seconds, or to even touch the dessert bars which as many of you who have been to Disney know, are massive and filled with lots of different goodies.

We drank our Slim each morning and never once felt the need for sweets or junk food.  Our snack was usually a piece of fresh fruit instead of the usual popcorn or ice cream or junk food.  It felt so good to come home from that vacation and get on the scales having lost weight!  We have never done that before on a Disney trip.

Ben and I want to make sure people understand that this is a tool to be used along with good eating choices and regular exercise.  For that reason, anybody who tries the Plexus also gets the Fit and FLourishing Online fitness and nutrition support program as a gift from us.  This is about helping people fight obesity.  I could have used my Plexus base to try and sell the program that costs $12.99 per month normally, but we choose to offer for free just to help people. THis is the link for info, just click the photo, and if any of you decide to try it, email me or message me on Facebook first as we do not want you to pay retail!

Image

Check it out and hopefully it helps you like it has helped us and so many of our clients and friends!  Blood sugar regulation is a beautiful thing! I look forward to hearing from anyone who has also tried this with great results!  Remember, DIETS DO NOT WORK, we have to find tools that help us to make the right choices and eat a good healthy balanced diet of nutrient-dense foods.  THIS is what happens with Plexus and why I promote them!

For those who are not even willing to check it out and read a little bit about the ingredients, I understand the hesitation and that is okay!  You may have already found your tool and that is awesome!  Keep up the good work!  Live healthy every day, regardless of what tool you choose!

In Health!

XXOO

Erin

About Erin Akey

I am a formerly morbidly obese wife, mother, Christian, author, speaker, water fitness instructor, nutritionist, anti-obesity advocate, and Emerald Ambassador with Plexus Worldwide. I am passionate about helping people fight the disease of obesity and also preventing and addressing obesity in children. I believe we have so many amazing tools available to treat this disease and we all need to take advantage of the ones we feel are right for us. I am also passionate about women taking the time to care for their needs. We live in a world where so many of us spend all of our time taking care of others that we neglect ourselves. I am all about making God the center of everything and letting His will take control of our lives and watching the beautiful blessings come from that release of power! Live, Laugh, and LOVE every day! Be grateful and be humble and watch the world around you change!
This entry was posted in Plexus Lifestyle! and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Rare Find for this Girl!- Yes I AM in love with this product!

  1. Susan says:

    Thanks, Erin–good info to share. The only bad thing is that unwittingly, the ad at the bottom is for a Big Mac and it looks like it is coming from you–I KNOW IT IS NOT!

  2. Very good blog post Erin! I’m proud of you!!! And I agree 100% that it’s just a TOOL! I always tell my patients that have weight loss surgery that it is also just a tool. And no matter what your tool of choice is, you still have to do your part to maintain a healthy lifestyle. I’m thankful that I had the opportunity to share this product with you and Ben and that it has helped you as much as it helped me and many others! You have a heart of Gold my friend and I have no doubt that you are going to continue to help so many others in this war against obesity! Love you!!! Casey Frawley, RN, CBN and Independent Ambassador with Plexus Worldwide

  3. Karyn Gomez says:

    I was very skeptical of Plexus as well. I actually followed and researched for about 3 months before deciding to give it a try… (After all they have a 60 day money back guarantee!) I thought, the ONLY thing I have to lose is the weight, right!?! Honestly, one of THE best decisions I’ve made in my life! Plexus has been a Godsend for me! I’m so excited to share with my family and friends, because it WORKS! Thanks for this wonderful blog! Your words really mirrored many of my own thoughts!

  4. Erin, after years of struggling with my weight and blood sugar, I can say that I’m no longer a skeptic of Plexus Slim, but a BELIEVER! My blood sugar has dropped over 120 points and I’ve lost 24 lbs and 26 inches in 9 weeks. I sleep all night, no longer have migraines, and my appetite and cravings are in total control.
    Cheers to the PINK DRINK and for David Brown, co-founder of this amazing product!
    Blessings,
    Kathy

  5. ileneefalley says:

    Holy crap. So much money

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  6. Pingback: Happy Anniversary To Me! WHY DID I WAIT SO LONG???!!! | Erin Akey CPT, WFI, FNC- wife, mother, Christian, author, radio host, advocate for healthy living

Leave a Reply

