Another HUGE victory!

We all know the horrors of weight gain when we have to take a steroid for inflammation. When I broke my back and was given steroid shots for pain, especially right after my spinal fusion, I gained about 15 pounds right away.  There is this misconception that the steroid magically puts weight on us which is just not true.  Yes there are things associated with the steroids that can cause weight gain, like water retention, but most medical professionals I have spoken to on this topic will agree that the majority of the weight gain from steroids is from increased appetite.

Many steroids can also raise your blood sugar levels which we all know can cause cravings. Between increased appetite and increased cravings, it is easy to see why most of us put on a few pounds or many pounds, while on steroid treatments.  Luckily I have been off of them for a while now since my back fusion was a few months back.  Well this week, I had a bit of a setback where my back started giving me some trouble.  I was having some severe pain and inflammation near the hardware.  My surgeon decided a steroid shot was the best bet.  Something had to give.  I was literally at the point where I was in so much pain I had not slept in two nights and walking was becoming a chore!  SO I agreed to the shot and just assumed I needed to prepare myself for 5-10 pounds of weight gain.

To me this was a small price to pay for sleeping!  So two days ago I had my steroid shot.  I felt relief within a few hours as it was clearly helping some of the swelling,  and I slept! But this is no shock, we all know this is what steroids do.

HERE IS THE GOOD PART- Since my last steroid shot, I started drinking and working with Plexus Slim.  As many of you know, Plexus was made for diabetics to control blood sugar and when our blood sugar is regulated, we crave things less and our appetites are not as high.  I am proud to say that by combining this yummy plant based drink once a day with good sound nutrition and exercise, I have lost 37 pounds since my back surgery and Ben has dropped 48.  We both feel better than ever before in our lives!

So naturally I was afraid to ruin this momentum with a steroid shot this week, but knew I had to have it!

Guess what?  Here we are two days after my shot- NO increased appetite, no weight gain, no cravings, NOTHING BUT PAIN RELIEF!  It feels so good to not want to eat the bad stuff and to have the pain relief I need so that I can sleep and be able to function and do my job daily.

If you have never heard of this pink drink PLEXUS, you are missing out on a great tool to fight obesity.  There are so many good ones out there and they can be used together to form a great arsenal that helps us towards better health every day!

THANK YOU PLEXUS!  I love my pink drink, I love helping others, and I LOVE having not had a sugar crash since late August!!!

WOO HOO!

XXOO

Erin

Image

About Erin Akey

I am a formerly morbidly obese wife, mother, Christian, author, speaker, water fitness instructor, nutritionist, anti-obesity advocate, and Emerald Ambassador with Plexus Worldwide. I am passionate about helping people fight the disease of obesity and also preventing and addressing obesity in children. I believe we have so many amazing tools available to treat this disease and we all need to take advantage of the ones we feel are right for us. I am also passionate about women taking the time to care for their needs. We live in a world where so many of us spend all of our time taking care of others that we neglect ourselves. I am all about making God the center of everything and letting His will take control of our lives and watching the beautiful blessings come from that release of power! Live, Laugh, and LOVE every day! Be grateful and be humble and watch the world around you change!
This entry was posted in Plexus Lifestyle! and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

