Want to know the secret of how to lose weight permanently?

Before we talk about how to lose weight permanently, let’s get one thing straight.  DIETS DO NOT WORK.  Period.  I do not care what diet you try, you may in fact lose 10-20-40-50-even 100 pounds.  The problem?  Once you come off that DIET and just go back to living life, the weight creeps back up and sometimes you gain back more than you lost.  SO, forget diets.

stopdieting

So, now that we have that out of the way, let’s talk about the SECRET to losing weight permanently.  I have it for you!  You have been waiting your whole life for this, trust me!  The one MAGIC KEY to not just losing weight, but to keeping it off FOREVER is here ready for you to grab it and head out on this AMAZING journey towards optimal health and fitness.

I know I know, you have tried it all and nothing seems to work.  Trust me I have been there and done that myself, this is why I am so excited to have discovered this INCREDIBLE secret!  I am going to share it and not keep it to myself.  This is THE THING!  It makes me so excited to FINALLY know THE SECRET that I am almost giddy!

Okay- so are you ready?  Here it is……

DRUM-ROLL PLEASE!!!!…..

You SURE you are ready?…….

187180996951563333_1346913571

Wait….here it is one more time…..

lifestyle

YEP, that is the secret!  To have long-term success in keeping the weight off and being at a healthy weight, you have to make permanent lifestyle changes.  We have to start living healthy.  That is the simple key.  We have to trade in our old unhealthy habits, that contributed to our weight issues, in for new healthier habits that will allow us to lose or maintain a healthy weight for life.

The problem with this simple secret is that it is easier said than done. If we could all just put the fork down and stop at exactly enough for our bodies and get just the right amount of exercise and do all of this on our own, there would be no obesity epidemic in this country like the one we have currently. So then, what is the solution?

WE MUST FIND AND USE HEALTHY TOOLS TO AID US IN THIS JOURNEY!

This is really where the key lies.  And the best part is that there are so many wonderful healthy tools.  Now- they may not all be right for you, so you have to check into them, do your research and use what you believe in and what you feel can best help you.  As a professional in the fitness and nutrition industry, there are a few tools I firmly believe in.

I recently had someone ask me if I just say I love the things that are part of my Winning Against Obesity Challenge tour and Fit Living radio show because they are my sponsors.  In reality- you could go to EVERY sponsor I have and they can tell you I approached THEM because I was a customer first and loved their product.  The exception to that is LapBand– I do not have a LapBand, I had gastric bypass.  I am a person who went in for a LapBand and was talked into a RNY gastric bypass by a surgeon who is no longer practicing.  I am a staunch proponent of finding a surgeon who does all of the various procedures and will do the one you feel is best for you, not the one they feel is easiest for them or will make them the quickest buck.  Again this is where research comes in really handy.  In the long term studies- at 10 years out they all have virtually the same rate of success and this is related to patient compliance. If you want to know why I am a FIRM believer in the LapBand as a great tool, check out this interview I did with Dr. Scott Robbins who is a wonderful surgeon who does all of the procedures.  BUT I DIGRESS…..

These are some of the tools I have used along my journey to get healthy and stay that way.  If I talk about it here, I use it in my home.

1. BARIATRIC PROCEDURES:

I FIRMLY believe in bariatric surgery as a viable tool in the treatment of obesity.   I do not think it is the right choice for all though.  A person has to be ready and willing to make permanent changes to their lifestyle and how and what they eat in order for this tool to work long term.  LIFESTYLE change is the key.  There is a reason so many people tend to regain a lot of weight they shed with weight loss surgery.  As time goes on and complacency sets in and life happens, old habits can start to creep back in.  OR for some, the bad habits may never have left.  If this person is a bypass or sleeve patient who did not make lifestyle changes during that initial “honeymoon” phase where it is almost impossible NOT to lose weight, once the honeymoon is over, here comes the weight back.  If this person was a LapBand patient who did not start making the lifestyle changes from day one- they did not have the luxury of that honeymoon and likely did not lose the amount they wanted to lose and will often say the band didn’t work, when really they didn’t work the band.  I love how Dr. Robbins pointed out the difference in which bypass and sleeve and a LapBand patient address this.  The bypass or sleeve patient is very quick to say they “messed up” and had regain and know it is their fault, while a LapBand patient will often blame the band and not themselves for not being compliant.  BOTTOM LINE- if you are not ready to make permanent changes- these procedures are not for you.  They require a huge commitment and also a lot of education into the possible long-term side effects of the more invasive procedures like bypass. I do not regret my bypass one single bit and have learned to live with things like sugar intolerance, reactive hypoglycemia, and not being allowed to have NSAIDS because they are a practical guarantee of an ulcer, just to name a few.  However these procedures save lives and change lives and are WONDERFUL when both surgeon and patient have a strong commitment to the long term lifestyle.

2. THERAPY

IF we get really super honest with ourselves, I think most of us realize our weight issues almost always come with emotional issues.  Sugar and carb addiction for some, past hurts in life that caused us to binge eat, stress eating, body image issues, bad relationships, etc.  The list could go on for miles.  The point is, if we do not fix the things in our heads, then our weight issues will usually come back to haunt us.  I am so glad that I realized through my sweet friends who are now together and called A Post-Op and a Doc, that I needed therapy for my carb addiction and emotional eating.  I am so glad I did that for my health.  I am a staunch proponent of therapy as a tool to treat obesity.

3. EXERCISE

297c43e4024c7153374351e65cf6e790 (1)

 

So here is the deal- our bodies were made to move, not to be sedentary.  SO MOVE!  You can pick anything you enjoy for physical activity and just do it!  Plus working out makes you feel energized and happy and this is always helpful when we are trying to make healthy choices as far as food goes. We do a whole session in the Winning Against Obesity Challenge called MADE TO MOVE!  This is a critical piece in long term health.  This does not mean intense workouts five time a week- or expensive equipment. It means finding an activity you enjoy even it is just dancing around your living room to your favorite music and doing it at least 3 times a week for 20-30 minutes and working up from there.  And YES you have time, if you think you do not, email me and I will show you where you do have time.

4. NUTRITIONAL TOOLS

I have a few nutritional products that I LOVE LOVE LOVE.  These things are consumed in my home DAILY.

First off- Plexus Slim – This is a wonderful tool that MANY medical professionals are using with their patients who are struggling with weight loss and for bariatric patients- weight regain and reactive hypoglycemia in RNY gastric bypass patients.   What is it?  Well first let’s talk about what it is NOT.  It is NOT a diet pill, diet drink, or magic potion.  It is a natural caffeine and stimulant free blend of plant extracts and fiber that aids in helping to regulate blood sugar (the main reason I tried it after being told about it my my bariatric coordinator friend for a year) and also helps cut appetite and cravings for sugar and carbs.  No it does not magically make you lose weight, but it helps you SAY NO to sugar, chips, popcorn, etc. and make the GOOD choices you need to make to be healthy and to lose weight.  It also gives you great energy and so you often find yourself exercising more. It is a drink packet that you mix into a bottle of water.  I regained 35 pounds when I broke my back in May of 2012 and was devastated.  I was on steroids and wanted to eat everything in sight and was also unable to exercise because of the injury.  Once I started drinking the Plexus, I was able to shed that plus another 13 and am now 11 pounds lower than the lowest I ever got after my gastric bypass.  In the picture below, the one on left was right after I had gained all of my weight- this was taken in June (I actually gained 8 more pounds before starting Plexus and avoided the camera) – Then I started Plexus in September and the photo on right was taken after my loss of 44 pounds.  Yes it works, and only because I choose to work it.

photo (2)

 

Plexus SLim drink is a great tool for someone who is struggling with sugar and carbs and appetite and who truly wants to make good choices.  If you want a quick fix or magic potion, this is not for you.  There is no magic pill period.  Just healthy tools like these.

Two more nutritional tools I LOVE are Chike Nutrition and Quest Nutrition.  I am not a fan of most protein shakes, but Chike is amazing and their numbers are awesome.  Super healthy and super yummy for those mornings where I am in a rush and need a good fast option for breakfast.  Less than 200 calories regardless of flavor and always at least 28 grams of protein and only 2-3 grams of sugar.  LOVE LOVE my Chike.  In fact, my granddaughter’s first word was “chikeee”  She loves it too.  She could even recognize the canister at 15 months old.

Same goes for Quest Bars.  I have never found a protein bar I like this much.  The flavors are amazing and I really like baking with them and making my own little creations. All are 160-200 calories and always at least 20 grams of protein and 17 grams of fiber in a bar and YUM YUM YUM!

There are so many more things we can list as good tools to help us fight our weight issues.  The bottom line is it is a very personal thing.  What worked for me may not work for you and vice versa.  The key is to find what works for you and embrace it and use it as best as you can.  If a friend or loved-one chooses a tool that you do not particularly know a lot about or that maybe was not the right choice for you, have respect for their journey and choices and be supportive! You never know when you too may need that same support one day!

XXOO

Erin

About Erin Akey

I am a formerly morbidly obese wife, mother, Christian, author, speaker, water fitness instructor, nutritionist, anti-obesity advocate, and Emerald Ambassador with Plexus Worldwide. I am passionate about helping people fight the disease of obesity and also preventing and addressing obesity in children. I believe we have so many amazing tools available to treat this disease and we all need to take advantage of the ones we feel are right for us. I am also passionate about women taking the time to care for their needs. We live in a world where so many of us spend all of our time taking care of others that we neglect ourselves. I am all about making God the center of everything and letting His will take control of our lives and watching the beautiful blessings come from that release of power! Live, Laugh, and LOVE every day! Be grateful and be humble and watch the world around you change!
This entry was posted in Plexus Lifestyle! and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

