Freedom is PRICELESS

Ben and I have been with Plexus for a little over a year.  We loved the theme of FREEDOM at the convention earlier in the year and talk often about the freedoms we have felt thanks to Plexus. We have both lost almost 60 pounds each.

preandpostplexusJust that ALONE is a huge freedom.  Most people know I had regained about 40 pounds lost via weight loss surgery after an accident that broke my back.  Thanks to Plexus and using it as a tool to change my bad habits, I am now almost 20 pounds lower than my lowest after gastric bypass.  I have also seen major improvements in my blood sugar regulation.  I was having sugar crashes almost daily and now they are rare since starting Plexus.  There is overall better health for us both.  Yes I think that would be enough.  But wait there is so much more!   LOTS more!  Ben is now retired from the medical field and is home working with me full-time on our mission to help people suffering from weight-related issues.  That is a major part of the freedom we are feeling.  Then there is the kind of freedom we just can NEVER EVER put a price on at all!                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                       katiehospital katieconnorSee this is my son Connor and his girlfriend Katie.  Katie had to have major surgery at a hospital that is 4 hours away from our home in Mobile, AL.  They are both collegiate athletes and just finished up cross-country running season.  Timing for this surgery was to coincide with Thanksgiving break.  Where have we been since Friday?  The day of her surgery?  Not at home tied to a corporate job, but in Birmingham, AL with Katie.  See we have awesome friends who have an apartment there that they let us use and another friend who kept our younger son for four days while we were gone.  But we had something else.  Something you just cannot put a price on and that is the FREEDOM to grab our laptops and leave and work from anywhere, even a hospital.  Three years ago, this would NOT have been an option.

I worked in corporate America where I was literally on call 24/7.  I literally had surgery back in 2010 and was in the recovery room doped up out of my mind and Ben was in there with me and my office was calling me to handle a problem.  When my father had a massive heart attack and quadruple bypass and I called to say I was taking two days off and this was an emergency, it was as if I had committed high treason.  And if you wanted a day off around the holidays, well you had to take a whole week.  When I had major surgery in 2009, Ben had to leave me at the hospital to attend a meeting an hour away and then come back later that day.  He felt awful, but had no choice.

This weekend we saw the way Katie lit up when Connor was in her room.  We were going to come home Sunday, but Katie needed Connor there and so we just stayed another day.  No boss to call, no deciding what holiday we would give up for an extra day.  We just stayed.  I did a Google Hangout as a guest for a Plexus friend from Birmingham and did a conference call all from the apartment we were staying in and it worked out just fine. We were where we needed to be and it felt great to not have to fret and worry.  I will not be on call for Thanksgiving or Christmas. I used to have to pick one or the other and rotate each year.  Now I can spend all of my holidays with people I love.

I have this amazing team of Ambassadors working hard to grow their businesses and amazing leaders who mentor me who helped out when I was busy with Katie and my family.  I have this REALLY amazing leader who said something really profound this past week.  Sara J Marble hit it right on the head when she said God first, then family, then Plexus.  AMEN!   The thing is, this company truly believes that and allows those of us who work this business to put priorities in just that order.  That is one #plexusfreedom that you just cannot put a price on and that I am most thankful for each day.

Side note- Katie is doing very well and should be home for Thanksgiving!  This Thanksgiving, I am truly truly grateful and thankful for the blessing of Plexus and all of the freedoms this business brings and the wonderful people in our lives because of Plexus!

thanksgiving blessing

Happy Thanksgiving all!!!

XXOO

erinsignature

About Erin Akey

I am a formerly morbidly obese wife, mother, Christian, author, speaker, water fitness instructor, nutritionist, anti-obesity advocate, and Emerald Ambassador with Plexus Worldwide. I am passionate about helping people fight the disease of obesity and also preventing and addressing obesity in children. I believe we have so many amazing tools available to treat this disease and we all need to take advantage of the ones we feel are right for us. I am also passionate about women taking the time to care for their needs. We live in a world where so many of us spend all of our time taking care of others that we neglect ourselves. I am all about making God the center of everything and letting His will take control of our lives and watching the beautiful blessings come from that release of power! Live, Laugh, and LOVE every day! Be grateful and be humble and watch the world around you change!
This entry was posted in Plexus Lifestyle! and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

